Lassa Fever Hits Nigeria Again, 44 New Cases Confirmed

The Federal Government on Wednesday said 44 cases of Lassa fever have
been confirmed since December 2016 in nine states including Ogun,
Plateau, Bauchi, Taraba, Edo, Nasarawa, Rivers, Ebonyi and Ondo, with
some of the cases reported as probable.

The government also announced that seven new cases of Lassa fever
had been reported and confirmed in Edo, Ondo, and Bauchi states.
four of the seven new cases were reported in Edo State, two was
reported in Ondo while Bauchi had one case reported in the weekly report
collated by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control.