Uber Can Now Track Your Location Even After You Reach Your Location

Uber has started tracking users for five minutes before and after exiting their ride, the company recently announced in its update.

It may not be as intense as CIA-level spying, but users aren’t very comfortable with the update.

Prior to this latest update, Uber only collected location information during a passenger’s trip and only while the app was running in the foreground. No data was collected after the drop-off.

Uber claims the upgrade will help end the frustration experienced when drivers and passengers can’t locate each other.

Explaining the update on its website, Uber said: “Uber collects your location data from the time of trip request through five minutes after the trip ends, including when the app is in the background.”

Uber, however, explained how to turn off the feature:

On Android: Settings ? Apps ? Uber ? scroll to “Permission” ? toggle “Location”
On Android Lollipop (5.1) and earlier: Settings ? Location ? toggle Off
On iOS: Settings ? Privacy ? Location Services ? Uber ? choose “Never”