Buhari Swears In New INEC Commissioners

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday sworn in the 6 newly appointed Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC. This was according to Section 154(1) of the Nigerian constitution 1999 as amended. Recall that the commissioners had been cleared and confirmed by the Senate.

The six nominees include Ogunmola Ladipo, May Agbamuche, Abubakar Nahuche and Okechukwu Ibianu.

Others are Mohammed Haruna and Ahmad Muazu. Performing the ritual at the Council chamber of the State House Presidential Villa, Abuja shortly before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council, FEC, meeting, the president charged the new INEC officers to ensure that all elections must be credible.

The Nominees’ brief profile Mr. Ladipo From Oyo state was born on May 7, 1952. Until his swearing in Wednesday, he was the Resident Independent Electoral Commission, REC, in Lagos State. Mrs Agbamuche, a lawyer is the Editor Thisday Lawyer, a publication of Thisday Newspaper. Abubakar Nahuche from Zamfara state was born on May 19, 1953. He is a retired Army officer and a former CEO of defunct NITEL. Mr. Ibianu from Anambra state was born on November 3,1959.

He is a former Technical adviser to INEC from 2010-2015. Mr. Mohammed Haruna, a Journalist hails from Niger state was born on September 22, 1951.

 He was an editor of New Nigerian Newspaper and former spokesperson of former Head of State, Abdulsalami Abubakar. Ahmad Muazu, a retired Air Vice Marshall of Nigerian Airforce was born on September 6, 1967 in Gombe. Speaking at the event, the president said “This administration will demand of you to be firm and fair.

What this administration expects is that after we have left, Nigerians will look at the political history and know that we served Nigeria. “We want every Nigeria to use his PVC processed by card reader, that they have been given the opportunity and security in their various constituencies to elect who they want to elect.

The rest is left to their conscience and to God”. Speaking on behalf of the other new commissioners, Mr. Ibianu thanked the president and Nigerians for “the challenging opportunity to serve the country”.

He said all the commissioners would uphold their oath of allegiance and office. “We ask Nigerians for support to continue to improve the advances recorded in the electoral processes so far,” he said. Sent from my BlackBerry wireless device from MTN